201. More Reality

When I was in the clutches of profound depression, I believed that every detail of my life was driving me deeper into the pit. I couldn’t sleep, I had no appetite, my body ached, and I was so on edge that everyone around me was affected by my razor-thin emotions. In short, my reality was that I was hopelessly depressed and there was nothing on the horizon that would alter that fact.

Then I thought back to that time in 1975 when God intervened in my life (see previous blog), and I was able to see that if He hadn’t, I would have most likely committed suicide. And given that I was not at that time a believer, I was headed to an unpleasant destination for eternity. In one moment in time, He saved me both physically and spiritually. Seven years after that time I invited Jesus into my heart and received his forgiveness and saving grace.

When I meditated on that scene, I came to realize that nothing more could harm me. I was as good as dead and had been given a new lease on life. More and more the thought gained strength in my mind that nothing that happened to me mattered any longer, for I was Christ’s and He was mine. With this new reality, the depression dissipated until today it is a cloud in the sky far away from me. And things don’t bother me the way they used to.  That’s my new reality.

About Patrick Day

In 2010, I escaped from four long years of deep, dark depression. This blog shares lessons I learned from those years as depicted in my autobiography - How I Escaped from Depression - as well as other insights about depression and anxiety that only come from someone who has gone through it. When you have a heart attack, you become an expert in heart attacks. When you have diabetes, you become an expert in that condition. As such, I am an expert in depression, with a four-year experiential degree and graduate studies in how to live a life going forward that keeps the ever-lurking Depression at a healthy distance.
This entry was posted in Living a Spiritual Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment